DPHS Annual Meeting, Election and Potluck Dinner Wednesday, January 29

DPHS Annual Meeting, Election and Potluck Dinner Wednesday, January 29

The Dana Point Historical Society will hold its annual meeting and potluck dinner on Wednesday, January 29, at Community House, 24642 San Juan Avenue, Dana Point, CA 92629. Note that it was previously announced that the event would take place on January 22, but the date has been changed. For those who would like to help, setup of chairs and tables begins at 5 p.m.

Doors open to the membership and guests at 6 p.m. A reception starts the evening, followed by a potluck dinner at approximately 6:30 p.m. Opening comments and approval of the 2020 slate of incumbent officers and appointed board members will begin at 7:15 p.m.  Only members in good standing may vote.  Good standing is defined as members whose dues have been paid within the last year.  Marsha LaRusso will be on hand to accept dues for 2020.

Following the membership vote, our featured program event will include a presentation by Dana Point city representatives led by City Manager Mark Denny.  Topics will include updates on the Capistrano Beach Village Plan/Doheny Village Plan, the Lantern District and other current projects.  A question and answer session will follow the presentation.

Attendance is open to the public (please come and join our organization — a family membership is only $30!), but be sure to bring a dish to serve six to eight people for the potluck dinner. Beverages will be available, but a donation of wine or beer is always appreciated.

Members who wish to nominate individuals or apply for vacant positions should contact Parliamentarian Joel Bishop or President Barbara Johannes at least two days prior to the annual membership meeting at (949) 248-8121.

2020 Election of Board Members & Confirmation of Appointed Directors

OFFICERS to be elected by the members in January 2020:

Vacant (2020-2022)   1st Vice President, Museum

Bob Minty  (2020-2022)    3rd Vice President, Programs

Nancy Jenkins (2018-2020)    Corresponding Secretary

Board-appointed directors renewed for two years in 2020:

Elizabeth Bamattre (2018-2020)      Special Events

Judy Henderson (2018-2020)   Sunshine Ambassador, Director Emeritus

Max Brown (2018-2020)      Newsletter/Web Editor, Merchandise

Current officers elected in 2019

Barbara Johannes (2019-2021)    President

Marsha LaRusso (2019-2021)       2nd Vice President, Membership

Heidi Hyde (2019-2021)     Recording Secretary

Gary Prenovost (2019-2021)  Treasurer

Joel Bishop (2019-2021)    Parliamentarian

Board-appointed directors renewed for two years in 2019

Bruce Beal (2019-2021)    Ocean Heritage Projects

Joel Bishop (2019-2021)    Public Relations

Sandie Iverson (2019-2021)    Photo Archive

Keith Johannes (2019-2021)    Preservation

Board-appointed committee chairs renewed for two years in 2019

Grant Earl   (2019-2021)    Technology

Jeff Huston (2019-2021)    Tile Wall

Kirsten Reynolds (2019-2021)    Exhibits

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *