DPHS Annual Meeting, Election and Potluck Dinner Wednesday, January 24

DPHS Annual Meeting, Election and Potluck Dinner Wednesday, January 24

Please join us for our annual meeting and potluck dinner on Wednesday, January 24, at Gloria Dei Lutheran Church Bankson Hall (rear of property) on the corner of Stonehill Drive and Ocean Hill Drive just off Selva Road. Doors open at 5:30 p.m., although volunteers to help set up chairs and tables at 5:00 p.m. would be greatly appreciated. Gloria Dei has kindly offered to allow our members to tour its new sanctuary beginning at 5:30 p.m. A reception starts the evening, followed by a potluck dinner at approximately 6:45 p.m. Opening comments and approval of the 2018 slate of incumbent officers and appointed board members will begin around 7:15 p.m.  Our final program event will feature longtime DPHS member Keith Johannes, left, who will receive the 10th and final Pat Plepler Award. Several guest speakers will describe his active citizenship and community involvement. In addition, Nancy Jenkins will present a tribute to member and Founders Day recipient Colene Schwandt, who died last year.

Attendance is open to the public but please be sure to bring a dish to serve six to eight people for the potluck dinner. Beverages will be available but a donation of wine or beer is always appreciated.

Members who wish to nominate individuals or apply for vacant positions should contact Parliamentarian Joel Bishop or President Barbara Johannes at least two days prior to the annual membership meeting.


2018 Election of Board Members & Confirmation of Appointed Committee Chairs

OFFICERS to be elected by the members in January 2018:

VACANT                                                         1st Vice President, Museum/Archives

Bob Minty (2018-2020)                               3rd Vice President, Programs

Nancy Jenkins (2018-2020)                        Corresponding Secretary


Board-appointed committee chairs renewed for two years in 2018:

Elizabeth Bamattre (2018-2020)                 Special Events

Judy Henderson (2018-2020)                      Sunshine Ambassador, Director Emeritus

Rod Howorth (2018-2020))                          Merchandise

Terry Walsh (2018-2020)                              Walking Tours

VACANT (2018-2020)                                    Docent Scheduling & Recruitment


Current Board Members & Appointed Committee Chairs

OFFICERS elected by the members in January 2017:

Barbara Johannes (2017-19)                             President

Marsha LaRusso (2017-19)                                2nd Vice President, Membership

Heidi Hyde (2017-19)                                          Recording Secretary

Kat Wallace (2017-19)                                         Treasurer

Joel Bishop (2017-19)                                          Parliamentarian

Board-appointed committee chairs confirmed in January 2017:

Bruce Beal (2017-19)                                           Director, Ocean Heritage Projects

Joel Bishop (2017-19)                                          Public Relations/Technology

Max Brown (2017-19)                                          Newsletter/Web Editor

Sandie Iverson (2017-19)                                     Chair, Photos

Keith Johannes (2017-19)                                    Preservation

Kirsten Reynolds (2017-19)                                 Exhibits

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *