DPHS Annual Meeting, Election and Potluck Dinner Wednesday, January 23

The Dana Point Historical Society will hold its annual meeting and potluck dinner on Wednesday, January 23, at Gloria Dei Lutheran Church Bankson Hall (rear of property) at Stonehill Drive and Ocean Hill Drive. Doors open at 5:45 p.m. A reception starts the evening, followed by a potluck dinner at approximately 6:30 p.m. Opening comments and approval of the 2019 slate of incumbent officers and appointed board members will begin at 7:15 p.m.  Only members in good standing may vote.  Good standing is defined as members whose dues have been paid within the last year.

Our final program event will feature local author Joe Dunn, along with Dick Metz, who will present Joe’s new book, Lifestyle Retail, The Story of The Hobie Surf Shops. It is the history of the Hobie shops and the two principals involved, which heavily features Dick Metz, who opened, owned and ran Hobie Alter’s first retail shop in Honolulu.  The book references the youths of the two men and continues through the history of the shops up to the present owners.

Attendance is open to the public, but please be sure to bring a dish to serve six two eight people for the potluck dinner. Beverages will be available, but a donation of wine or beer is always appreciated.

Members who wish to nominate individuals or apply for vacant positions should contact Parliamentarian Joel Bishop or President Barbara Johannes at least two days prior to the annual membership meeting. Please note members may also pay their 2019 dues at the event.  Marsha LaRusso, Vice President of Membership, will be on hand to collect dues.

2019 Election of Board Members & Confirmation of Appointed Directors

OFFICERS to be elected by the members in January 2019:

Barbara Johannes (2019-2021)                                     President

Marsha LaRusso (2019-2021)                                        2nd Vice President, Membership

Heidi Hyde (2019-2021)                                                  Recording Secretary

Gary Prenovost (2019-2021)                                          Treasurer

Joel Bishop (2019-2021)                                                 Parliamentarian

Board-appointed directors renewed for two years in 2019:

Bruce Beal (2019-2021)                                                   Ocean Heritage Projects

Joel Bishop (2019-2021)                                                 Public Relations/Technology

Max Brown (2019-2021)                                                  Newsletter/Web Editor

Jeff Huston (2019-2021)                                                  Tile Wall

Sandie Iverson (2019-2021)                                           Photo Archive

Keith Johannes (2019-2021)                                          Preservation

Kirsten Reynolds (2019-2021)                                       Exhibits


Current Board Members & Appointed Committee Chairs

OFFICERS elected by the members in January 2018:

VACANT                                                                            1st Vice President, Museum/Archives

Bob Minty (2018-2020)                                                  3rd Vice President, Programs

Nancy Jenkins (2018-2020)                                           Corresponding Secretary

Board-appointed directors confirmed in January 2018:

Elizabeth Bamattre (2018-2020)                                    Special Events

Judy Henderson (2018-2020)                                         Sunshine Ambassador, Director Emeritus

Max Brown (2018-2020)                                                  Merchandise

VACANT (2018-2020)                                                      Docent Scheduling & Recruitment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.